Uninterruptible devices allow you to minimize the dependence of household and computer equipment on the presence of electric current in sockets. During power outages, they will come in handy for backup power to electrical appliances. But before proceeding with the calculations of the required battery capacity in the UPS for certain needs and for a specific time, it is necessary to choose the right uninterruptible power supply by type.

Common types of uninterruptible power supplies

The simplest kind of "uninterruptible" is standby UPS, intended solely for safety net. With sudden surges in voltage and current in the mains, they switch the load to the battery, the charge of which lasts for several minutes. Redundant UPSs will serve as a suitable solution for saving data and safely shutting down a computer, nothing more.

Specially for routers and laptops, low- voltage UPSs with low-voltage outputs for 9/12/15/18 V are produced. They are also actively introduced into alarm, video surveillance and access control systems.

Safety nets in networks with unstable voltage are provided by interactive "uninterruptibles". Such devices are designed for low-term power supply of a computer and related peripherals within one workplace (for 10-30 minutes). In parallel, they smooth out voltage fluctuations in the mains (within a couple of tens of volts). Those. the second role of interactive UPS is work as voltage stabilizers. When the voltage goes beyond the operating range, the load automatically switches to the battery of the uninterruptible power supply.

Interactive UPSs perform both the role of a connection reserve and a voltage stabilizer.

Inverter UPSs (online) are considered to be the most advanced. Their work is established in a wide range of voltages with voltage equalization without jumps and subsidence when switching to a battery load. UPS online with the same power can be connected in parallel, understaffed with external batteries. Advanced inverter "uninterruptible" models can be used to back up entire buildings.

For autonomous power systems based on solar panels, hybrid UPSs with an MPPT controller and a pure sine wave output are produced. However, they are also compatible with traditional electrical networks. Such UPS models guarantee the most accurate control of the parameters of operation and distribution of the generated energy. Models of "uninterruptible" with the correct sine wave are used for backup power to the most sensitive electronics.

Hybrid UPS with an MPPT controller is well suited for use in autonomous power systems based on solar panels.

Mobile charging stations offer the best autonomy in the class. They are described in detail in a separate article “Autonomous power supply: what are portable charging stations?”.


Batteries

The following types of batteries are used in uninterruptible power supplies:

  • lead-acid AGM - reliable batteries with stable voltage characteristics, designed for approximately 400-500 charge / discharge cycles;
  • multi -gel - an improved version of AGM batteries with a more viscous electrolyte; withstands 700-800 charge/discharge cycles;
  • gel GEL - gel batteries with a thick electrolyte in a jelly-like state have a long service life, high capacity, a wide operating temperature range and excellent reliability, however, such batteries are more expensive and do not tolerate deep discharge; their resource often exceeds 1000 charge / discharge cycles;
  • lithium-iron-phosphate LiFePo4 - the most advanced type of rechargeable batteries, characterized by high energy capacity with compact dimensions, the complete absence of the "memory effect", low self-discharge, resistance to large temperature fluctuations; withstand LiFePo4 batteries over 7000 charge/discharge cycles;
  • nickel-cadmium NiCd - infrequent guests on board "uninterruptible"; despite the high reliability, low self-discharge rate and good service life (about 1500 charge / discharge cycles), such batteries are made using toxic substances as a filler and have the notorious "memory effect"; their use is expedient in severe environmental conditions with strong temperature fluctuations.
Uninterruptible power supplies use different types of batteries - each with its own advantages and disadvantages.

Power supplies for "uninterruptibles" last about 5 years (under ideal conditions, up to 10 years). The decrease in the declared service life is due to frequent and long-term backup power to the equipment until the batteries are completely discharged, as well as the impact on the battery of temperature fluctuations and strong overloads.

Principles for calculating the required connection power

Calculating the approximate battery life of connected equipment from a UPS is not so difficult. To do this, you need to know the total capacity of the batteries on board the "uninterruptible device", their voltage and the power of consumers. Also, the efficiency of the UPS inverter is taken into account(from the device passport or an average value of 0.85).

All these indicators are added to the formula of the following form:

C (Ah) * V (V) * η / P (W) = T (hours)

For a better understanding of the essence, let's consider the calculation of the estimated operating time of the equipment connected to the UPS using a real example. Let's assume that there is an "uninterruptible power supply" with three 12-volt batteries with a total capacity of 27 Ah (three batteries of 9 Ah). The UPS powers a home PC, which consumes approximately 200 Wh of power:

27 Ah * 12 V * 0.85 / 200 W = 1.377 hours (1 hour 23 minutes)

Most often, UPSs are used in conjunction with personal computers and peripherals.

You can count a little differently. In particular, there is a formula for determining the required battery capacity for a specific time of equipment operation from a UPS. It looks like this:

T (hours) * P (W) / η / V (V) = C (Ah)

We check it in practice with the same conditions from the example above (the operation of the equipment must be ensured for 1 hour. 23 minutes (1.377 hours)):

1.377 hours * 200 W / 0.85 / 12 V = 27 Ah

Things are a little more complicated if the equipment is switched on periodically (for example, a refrigerator). The 200W food storage compressor runs for approximately 2 minutes at 10 minute intervals. Its average power consumption is 200W*2min. / 10 min. = 40 W. This indicator must be substituted into the calculations of the expected battery life from the UPS:

27 Ah * 12 V * 0.85 / 40 W = 6.885 hours (6 hours 53 min.)

The “uninterruptible power supply” with a trio of 12-volt batteries of 9 Ah each is enough to ensure the operation of a home PC for 1 hour 23 minutes. or the refrigerator for almost 7 hours. Similar calculations can be made for other household appliances, knowing the level of power consumption of the equipment and the characteristics of the "uninterruptible".

A well-chosen UPS will help to establish autonomous operation of the refrigerator for several hours in a row.

To simplify the task, calculators are designed to calculate the operating time of the UPS from batteries. You can find them on Google and other search engines.


Laptop and router powered by Powerbank

In the material "How to organize remote work during power outages" we covered in detail the possibility of powering a router and a laptop from a Powerbank battery. And how long, in this case, will a conditional wireless router with the parameters of the consumed voltage and current 9 V / 1 A stay afloat? Let's guess.

To calculate the battery life of the router, we use the following formula:

W (Wh) * η / (V (V) * I (A) = T (hours)

The capacity of the batteries of the power bank in W * h is usually indicated on the nameplate, and for the efficiency we take an average figure of 0.8. The popular model Xiaomi Mi Power Bank 3 20000 has a battery capacity of 74 Wh. On his example, we perform the calculations:

74 Wh * 0.8 / (9 V * 1 A) = 6.578 hours (6 hours 35 minutes)

In order not to be left without the Internet during power outages, the router can be powered from a Powerbank battery.

Note that in order to properly power the router from the power bank, you may need special cables with built-in voltage boosters or Quick Charge / Power Delivery triggers. Also, these devices are available as separate solutions with USB connection ports. We talked about them in more detail in the aforementioned article "How to organize remote work during power outages".


_____

Remember that there are no hopeless situations. You can mitigate the consequences of rolling and emergency blackouts if you have ingenuity and sober calculations for the selection of suitable equipment for backup power supply for home and computer equipment.

«Бесперебойники» позволяют минимизировать зависимость бытовой и компьютерной техники от наличия электрического тока в розетках. На время отключений света они придутся кстати для резервного питания электроприборов. Но прежде чем приступить к расчетам необходимой емкости аккумуляторных батарей в ИБП под определенные нужды и в течение конкретного времени, необходимо правильно подобрать источник бесперебойного питания по типу.

Распространенные типы источников бесперебойного питания

Простейшая разновидность «бесперебойников» — это резервные ИБП, предназначаемые исключительно для подстраховки. При резких скачках напряжения и тока в электросети они переключают нагрузку на батарею, заряда которой хватает на несколько минут. Резервные ИБП послужат подходящим решением для сохранения данных и безопасного выключения компьютера, не более того.

Спецом под роутеры и ноутбуки выпускаются резервные мини-ИБП с низковольтными выходами на 9/12/15/18 В. Их также активно внедряют в системы сигнализации, видеонаблюдения и контроля доступа.

Подстраховку в сетях с нестабильным напряжением обеспечивают интерактивные «бесперебойники». Такие устройства рассчитаны на кратковременное питание компьютера и сопутствующей периферии в пределах одного рабочего места (на протяжении 10-30 мин.). Параллельно они сглаживают колебания напряжения в электросети (в пределах пары десятков вольт). Т.е. второе амплуа интерактивных ИБП — работа в качестве стабилизаторов напряжения. При выходе вольтажа за пределы рабочего диапазона нагрузка автоматически переключается на батарею источника бесперебойного питания.

Интерактивные ИБП выполняют как роль резерва подключения, так и стабилизатора напряжения.

Наиболее продвинутыми по праву считаются инверторные ИБП (online). Их работа налажена в широком диапазоне напряжений с выравниванием вольтажа без скачков и проседаний при переключении на нагрузку от аккумуляторной батареи. ИБП online с одинаковой мощностью можно подключать параллельно, доукомплектовывать внештатными аккумуляторами. Передовые модели инверторных «бесперебойников» могут быть использованы для резервного питания целых зданий.

Под системы автономного питания на основе солнечных панелей выпускаются гибридные ИБП с MPPT-контроллером и чистой синусоидой на выходе. Впрочем, они совместимы и с традиционными электросетями. Такие модели UPS гарантируют максимально точный контроль параметров работы и распределения вырабатываемой энергии. Модели «бесперебойников» с правильной синусоидой применяются для резервного питания наиболее чувствительной электроники.

Гибридные ИБП с MPPT-контроллером хорошо подходят для использования в системах автономного питания на основе солнечных панелей.

Наилучшую автономность в классе предлагают мобильные зарядные станции. Подробно о них рассказано в отдельном материале «Автономное энергоснабжение: что такое портативные зарядные станции?».


Разновидности аккумуляторных батарей

В источниках бесперебойного питания применяются следующие разновидности аккумуляторных батарей:

  • свинцово-кислотные AGM — надежные батареи со стабильными характеристиками напряжения, рассчитанные примерно на 400-500 циклов заряда/разряда;
  • мультигелевые — усовершенствованная версия AGM-батарей с более вязким электролитом; выдерживает 700-800 циклов заряда/разряда;
  • гелевые GEL — гелевые аккумуляторы с густым электролитом в желеобразном состоянии обладают длительным сроком эксплуатации, высокой емкостью, широким диапазоном рабочих температур и отменной надежностью, однако такие батареи более дорогостоящие и не терпят глубокого разряда; их ресурс нередко превышает 1000 циклов заряда/разряда;
  • литий-железно-фосфатные LiFePo4 — наиболее передовой тип аккумуляторных батарей, характеризуемый высокой энергоемкостью при компактных размерах, полным отсутствием «эффекта памяти», низким уровнем саморазряда, устойчивостью к большим температурным колебаниям; выдерживают аккумуляторы LiFePo4 свыше 7000 циклов заряда/разряда;
  • никель-кадмиевые NiCd — нечастые гости на борту «бесперебойников»; невзирая на высокую надежность, низкий процент саморазряда и хороший эксплуатационный ресурс (порядка 1500 циклов заряда/разряда), такие батареи изготавливаются с использованием токсичных веществ в качестве наполнителя и обладают пресловутым «эффектом памяти»; их применение целесообразно в тяжелых условиях окружающей среды с сильными перепадами температур.
В источниках бесперебойного питания применяются разные типы аккумуляторных батарей — каждый со своими достоинствами и недочетами.

Источники питания для «бесперебойников» служат примерно 5 лет (в идеальных условиях до 10 лет). Снижение заявленного эксплуатационного ресурса обуславливается частым и длительным резервным питанием оборудования вплоть до полной разрядки батарей, а также воздействием на аккумулятор температурных колебаний и сильных перегрузок.

Принципы расчета необходимой мощности подключения

Рассчитать примерное время автономной работы подключенного оборудования от ИБП не так и сложно. Для этого необходимо знать суммарную емкость батарей на борту «бесперебойника», их вольтаж и мощность потребителей. Также в расчет берется коэффициент полезного действия инвертора ИБП (из паспорта устройства либо же усредненное значение 0.85).

Все эти показатели складываются в формулу следующего вида:

C (Ач) * V (В) * η / P (Вт) = T (часы)

Для лучшего понимания сути давайте рассмотрим расчет предполагаемого времени работы подключенной к ИБП техники на реальном примере. Предположим, в наличии имеется «бесперебойник» с тремя 12-вольтовыми аккумуляторами суммарной емкостью 27 Ач (три батареи по 9 Ач). От ИБП питается домашний ПК, который потребляет примерно 200 Вт*ч мощности:

27 Ач * 12 В * 0.85 / 200 Вт = 1.377 часа (1 час 23 мин.)

Чаще всего ИБП используются совместно с персональными компьютерами и периферией.

Считать можно и немного по-другому. В частности, существует формула для определения необходимой емкости аккумуляторов под конкретное время работы оборудования от ИБП. Выглядит она так:

T (часы) * P (Вт) / η / V (В) = С (Ач)

Проверяем ее на практике с теми же условиями из примера выше (работа оборудования должна обеспечиваться в течение 1 часа. 23 мин. (1.377 часа)):

1.377 часа * 200 Вт / 0.85 / 12 В = 27 Ач

Чуточку сложнее обстоят дела при условии периодического включения оборудования (например, холодильника). Компрессор хранилища провианта с мощностью потребления в 200 Вт работает примерно по 2 минуты с интервалом через 10 минут. Среднее значение его энергопотребления составляет 200 Вт * 2 мин. / 10 мин. = 40 Вт. Этот показатель и нужно подставлять в расчеты предполагаемого времени автономной работы от ИБП:

27 Ач * 12 В * 0.85 / 40 Вт = 6.885 часов (6 часов 53 мин.)

Силенок у «бесперебойника» с трио 12-вольтовых аккумуляторов по 9 Ач каждый хватит на обеспечение работы домашнего ПК в течение 1 часа 23 мин. либо же холодильника на протяжении почти 7 часов. Аналогичные расчеты можно произвести для другой бытовой техники, зная уровень потребляемой мощности оборудования и характеристики «бесперебойника».

Грамотно подобранный ИБП поможет наладить автономную работу холодильника в течение нескольких часов кряду.

Упростить задачу призваны калькуляторы для просчета времени работы ИБП от аккумуляторных батарей. Найти их можно в «Гугле» и прочих поисковых системах.


Питание ноутбука и роутера от Powerbank

В материале «Как организовать удаленную работу при отключениях света» мы детально осветили возможность запитки роутера и ноутбука от Powerbank-аккумулятора. А сколько же в таком случае продержится «на плаву» условный беспроводной маршрутизатор с параметрами потребляемого напряжения и тока 9 В / 1 А? Давайте прикинем.

Для подсчета времени автономной работы роутера воспользуемся следующей формулой:

W (Вт*ч) * η / (V (В) * I (А) = T (часы)

Емкость аккумуляторов повербанка в Вт*ч обычно указывается на шильдике, а за коэффициент полезного действия принимаем усредненный показатель 0.8. У популярной модели Xiaomi Mi Power Bank 3 20000 показатель емкости батарей составляет 74 Вт*ч. На его примере выполняем вычисления:

74 Вт*ч * 0.8 / (9 В * 1 А) = 6.578 часов (6 часов 35 мин.)

Чтобы не остаться при отключениях света без интернета, роутер можно запитать от Powerbank-аккумулятора.

Отметим, что для корректной запитки роутера от повербанка могут понадобиться специальные кабели со встроенными «повышайками» напряжения либо же триггерами Quick Charge / Power Delivery. Также эти приспособления выпускаются в виде отдельных решений с USB-портами подключения. Подробнее о них мы рассказали в вышеупомянутой статье «Как организовать удаленную работу при отключениях света».


_____

Помните, что безвыходных ситуаций не бывает. Сгладить последствия веерных и аварийных отключений света можно при наличии смекалки и трезвых расчетов по подбору подходящего оборудования для резервного питания домашней и компьютерной техники.